Cookbook Taste Test # 1 Chocolate Mousse

Chocolate Mousse from Sweet Cravings

I spent my day cooking. I have discovered I have a problem, and I am trying to correct it. I buy too many cookbooks and I never actually use them. I love to cook. I cook daily. However, I get in a rut when it comes to recipes. It is silly to have the same old thing when I have so many resources out there. So I am starting a new series on my blog. I am going to make recipes from cookbooks and then write about the experience. I figure this would be a great way to hold myself accountable.

Today I wanted to find a dessert to make for our Thanksgiving meals that are coming up. I used the gorgeous Sweet Cravings cookbook that my husband recently purchased. I featured it in my October Haul. I started out going to make the Chocolate Truffle Tart. I ran into some problems with this. The crust did not turn out right. I am not sure if there was a typo, but it had more of the consistency of a thick chocolate buttercream. I really think it just needed a bit more flour. Of course, as all recipes go, it could have been human error. I am going to try it again on a day that I have more time to see if I can make it work.

Since I need a dessert and was running short on time I tried the recipe for Chocolate Mousse. It was very simple. In all it probably only took about ten minutes to make. It had to sit in the fridge for an hour before serving, but that gave us plenty of time to cook and eat supper. As soon as that hour was up, I dived in. It really hit the spot. I will definitely be making it again. I might make one little tweak. The recipe called for bittersweet chocolate chips and only two tablespoons of sugar, so it was as sweet as I usually like. So next time I might substitute in semi-sweet chocolate chips. That is totally personal preference though.

I have not cooked enough of the recipes yet to completely review the cookbook, but so far I really have enjoyed it. The descriptions are simple and easy to follow. The pictures are gorgeous. I have to try hard not to get flour on it. I would hate to ruin it. There will be more recipe reviews coming. If you’re interested subscribe.

Leave a Reply