Throne of Glass Series Review

“Once upon a time, in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom……….”

In March I started this journey. So much has happened in the series and in my life while reading the series. I feel like a chapter is coming to an end. This series is beautifully written and will forever be one of my favorites. Lets discuss why.

Assassin’s Blade is a prequel to the Throne of Glass series. It is five short stories that later become important to the plot. Some people recommend starting the series with this book. I didn’t and I don’t recommend it. The only reason I enjoyed this one was that I already had started caring for the characters. I read it before book three and that worked out well for me.

Throne of Glass is where this series begins. It follows Celeana Sardothien and eighteen-year-old assassin. Celeana is serving in the salt mines for her crimes when Prince Dorian comes to offer her freedom. However, she is only free on one condition. She must act as his champion in a competition. If she wins she will become the new royal assassin. When one contestant turns up dead, she has to find out who the killer is before she becomes the next victim.

I enjoy the first book. I do believe the plot of the first book was simple and somewhat predictable, but it sets up this massive epic fantasy. Where it ends is far from where it began.

Following the events of Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight is where the story really starts to pick up. I was stunned by the plot twists in this book.

Heir of Fire is controversial. People either love it or hate it. I loved it. It was my favorite book in the entire series. I think the reason some people dislike it is because it is a massive turning point for the series. It changes direction completely.

I struggled to get into this book at first. I had stepped away from the series so it took me a while to get back into it. Halfway through it picked up. In my original review that I wrote on the day I finished it I said that I wished the series would end here because it was such a happy ending. I didn’t want any more tragedies.

This one was confusing. There were times that I felt like I was missing half the story. Trust Sarah J Mass’s process. She wrapped it up so well. The progress this story made was impressive.

Like many people, I was not sure I would enjoy this one. It did not follow the main person I was reading the series for. I didn’t know how to feel about that. I was so wrong though. It was so good. It introduced new characters who became crucial to the story. If I had have skipped this I would have been lost. Not to mention the new people who were introduced became my favorite characters in the end.

I am still grieving over the fact that this series is over. The ending was just as beautiful as the beginning. It was so satisfying. I have a review specifically on Kingdom of Ash if you want to check it out . Don’t read the review if you haven’t read the other books in the series!

I loved every book in this series. I can’t believe the journey it took me on. I so recommend picking this series up! It is worth your time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s